POTTED HISTORY OF BLOGGING

WordPress tells me that today I am writing my 100th post.

It seems to think I need encouraging, and every time I publish a new post it gets excited – not sure how it will congratulate me today – fireworks maybe?

Did you know that the very first blog is Links.net, created by Justin Hall whilst he was a college student in 1994 and still going strong. He didn’t of course call it a blog, that term was not coined until 1999.

The original blogs were updated manually, often linked from a central home page or archive. This wasn’t very efficient, but unless you were a programmer who could create your own custom blogging platform, there weren’t any other options to begin with.

In 1999 there were 23 blogs on the internet. By the middle of 2006, there were 50 million!

This explosion was helped by the creation of special off-the-shelf blog platforms like Blogger and WordPress which made the format accessible to anyone with a computer.

Since the mid 2000s, the number of blogs has grown incredibly, with more than 152 million blogs active by the end of 2010. Virtually every mainstream news source now has at least one blog, as do many companies and individuals. Blogs are at the very centre of how we communicate and of course the micro-blogging sites like Twitter and Tumblr attract even more users.

I think blogging is here to stay, but it will be interesting to see how the format develops over the next ten years.Have a look at this mindmap to see what people are thinking.

From 23 to 152 million in just over ten years. Astounding!

4 thoughts on “POTTED HISTORY OF BLOGGING

  1. Hi Joanna,
    I’m a relatively new blogger myself–just since last August. So, I know what you mean about WP sending out those little encouragement recognitions being “precious”. But, I do find it quaintly cute.

    However, I’m curious. Why “potted” history? I’m not getting your reference. Maybe that’s because I’m a yankette from Illinois and we have different slang meanings. Ha! But I’m always interested to find out meanings for new slang terms to me from my friends across the seas–in either hemisphere. So, please share the definition of “potted” within the context you’re using it.

    Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. I am such a geekette for asking for the definition of “potted”, but I love words and how we use them to convey our thoughts to others. And my two volume OED set has such tiny typeface–I think it has four pages miniaturized and printed on one page–that it actually came with a magnifying glass to read it. But I think I need a more powerful magnifying glass. Ha!.

  2. Pingback: The RA Blogosphere « RAFrenzy

Leave a Reply

