NISSAN – STAR OF INDIA SHORT FILM

I was interested to see that Nissan have made a short film, rather than a commercial, to advertise their Micra in India.

Nissan announced their plans last October and launched a huge Facebook campaign asking aspiring contestants to upload a short video clip of themselves dancing signature Bollywood moves. Twenty lucky winners were then flown to Ramoji Film City¬†to take part in shooting for the film which involved over six hundred people, one hundred Nissan Micras, Nissan’s brand ambassador and Bollywood star Ranbir Kapoor, and¬†Choreographer/Director Ahmed Khan.

The finished article was released on Facebook and online in India with a 60 second trailer released in cinemas.

Now I know I’m not the target audience and my knowledge of the Bollywood movie genre isn’t very extensive, but having watched the piece, I have to say that it feels much more like a long commercial than a short film. I do take my hat off to Nissan for trying something new but I’m not sure how successful their effort has been.

Is this me being horribly mean-spirited, or is it an example of the need for brands to collaborate with writers with relevant film rather than advertising experience when they decide to step outside the traditional 30-60 second commercial format?

Have a look and see if you agree with me:

Leave a Reply

